Janov (Bruntál District)

Janov
Town
Town hall
Flag
Coat of arms
Name origin: John's (valley)
Country Czech Republic
Region Moravian-Silesian Region
District Bruntál
Commune Krnov
Municipality Město Albrechtice
Elevation 410 m (1,345 ft)
Coordinates 50°14′37″N 17°28′33″E / 50.24361°N 17.47583°E / 50.24361; 17.47583Coordinates: 50°14′37″N 17°28′33″E / 50.24361°N 17.47583°E / 50.24361; 17.47583
Area 11.01 km2 (4.25 sq mi)
Population 369 (2006-07-03)
Density 34/km2 (88/sq mi)
Mayor Šárka Šindelářová
Timezone CET (UTC+1)
 - summer (DST) CEST (UTC+2)
Postal code 793 84
Location in the Czech Republic
Location in the Moravian-Silesian Region
Wikimedia Commons: Janov (Bruntál District)
Statistics: statnisprava.cz
Website: www.sweb.cz/oujanov/

Janov (German: Johannesthal) is one of the smallest towns in the Czech Republic and is situated in the western part of the Microregion Osoblažsko in the Petrovický stream valley, where the landscape steeply rises up to the ridges of Hrubý Jeseník. Currently, there are less than 400 inhabitants living in the town.

History

The town was founded in 1251 by Bishop Bruno of Schaumburg and obtained its town rights in 1535 when it was assumed that there are rich deposits of precious metals around the town and its mining will bring prosperity and wealth. Although the assumptions were not met and there are no signs of precious metals mining around Janov, already granted privileges gave the town an urban character featured by a square which has preserved until these days.

Geography

The town is located deep in the Petrovický Stream valley where steep mountain ridges with forests and meadows rise up densely riddled with baulks. The natural environment of Janov includes a 500 year-old lime tree situated on the right side of Petrovický stream. Other points of interest is the Biskupská kupa viewing tower, located five kilometers away on the Czech-Polish border. Also nearby is the historical town of Zlaté Hory.

Arts and culture

The town has a small square at the town's centre where important monuments may be found, such as the Mining Memorial erected for the 650th anniversary of the town and the baroque statue of the Virgin Mary dated back to 1739. In the western corner of the square there is the Baroque-styled Church of the Holy Trinity built in between 1780 and 1783, with a cemetery located on the grounds. The cemetery includes two artistically valuable chapels built in pseudo-Renaissance and pseudo-Gothic styles. Also of note is the presence of folk architecture in the town, including houses No. 21 and 49. There is also the Museum of Janov and Jindřichov, a small museum which requires visitors make arrangements in advance by telephone, located on the town square which collects valuable geological artifacts about Janov, its history and life at the end of the nineteenth century.

References


    This article is issued from Wikipedia. The text is licensed under Creative Commons - Attribution - Sharealike. Additional terms may apply for the media files.